Our Offices & Partners Abroad

For detailed information please click on the offices and cultural centres below. For further information on the headquarters in Zurich please go to: www.prohelvetia.ch

Residencies Overview

The Southern African region includes the following countries:

Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania (including Zanzibar), Zambia, and Zimbabwe

Promoting creative exchange between Switzerland and the Southern African region: Pro Helvetia Johannesburg supports residencies and research trips for Swiss artists in Southern African countries, and for artists from Southern African countries in Switzerland.

We offer residencies (up to three months in duration) and research trips (up to four weeks in duration). Applications for residencies can be submitted once a year through our open call. Applications for research trips can be submitted at any time.

Artists and cultural practitioners (e.g. curators, event organisers, mediators) in the areas of the visual arts, music, literature, theatre and dance are eligible to apply.

Read stories from past residency artists

Learn more

Pro Helvetia Johannesburg Residencies